The NBA League office reviewed tape on the no-call when Dahntay Jones undercut Kobe Bryant and claims that the replay "confirmed that referees missed a foul call" as Jones "did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly", via NBA.com:
After review at the league office, video replay confirmed that referees missed a foul call on Jones as he challenged Bryant's shot and did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly back on the floor. Bryant should have been granted two free throws.
Kobe immediately stated post-game that it should have been a foul call, "period" via Twitter. It appears he was right. Most importantly, this set a precedent with the league officially stating a play like this should have been a foul call.
Jones clearly left Kobe no space to land cleanly, causing his leg to land awkwardly, and ultimately giving him a severe ankle sprain:
Since the initial injury, a source close to the Lakers believes that the chance that Kobe will play in the next two games is "not good", which leaves Monday's game in Phoenix a potential target for the Lakers.
In the meantime, Kobe intends to put his "big boy pants" on, which I assume means he will be in a triathlon tomorrow morning to "test" the ankle.
- Follow this author on Twitter @DrewGarrisonSBN
More on the Lakers:
- Did Dahntay Jones intentionally hurt Kobe Bryant?
- Gasol set to return soon, might start
- Lakers go ice cold in the fourth, Final Score: Hawks 96, Lakers 92
- Dwight was dominant defensively against the Orlando Magic
- Have the Lakers finally reached a turning point?
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/CDlD3bj62oo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>